Populism and the Pandemic: A Comparative Perspective

Sponsored by the Jean Monnet EU Center of Excellence for Comparative Populism at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the Political Science Institute at the University of Brasilia

This international virtual lecture series titled “Populism and the Pandemic- A Comparative Perspective” investigates the response of populists in different countries to the COVID-19 pandemic. The lectures will be held every second Tuesday of the month* at 11 am US Central Daylight Time (CDT)/13.00 Brasilia, Brazil (GMT-3)/18.00 Brussels, Belgium (CEST). Recordings of the lectures are available below.

*September 2020 will host two talks, one on September 8th and the other on September 29th.

Registration is required for each lecture, and registration forms will become available on the event page for each event as the date of the event approaches. A maximum of 250 participants are allowed on the platform.


Lecture Schedule 

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

June 9, 2020: "Populism and Democracy in Times of the Pandemic" (Cristóbal Rovira Kaltwasser, Diego Portales University )

Cristóbal Rovira Kaltwasser is a full professor at the School of Political Science of the Diego Portales University (UDP) in Santiago de Chile and an associate researcher at the Centre for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies (COES). He received his PhD in political science from the Humboldt-University of Berlin, and his main area of research is comparative politics. He takes a special interest in the ambivalent relationship between populism and democracy. Formerly, he worked as a research fellow at the University of Sussex, the Social Science Research Center Berlin (WZB) and the Human Development group of the Chilean Bureau of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Together with Cas Mudde (Georgia University), he has written the book “Populism. A Very Short Introduction” (Oxford University Press, 2017), which so far has been translated into Catalan, Dutch, French, Greek, Japanese, Portuguese and Thai.

July 14, 2020: USA (Kenneth Roberts, Cornell University) & Argentina (German Lodola, Universidad Torcuato Di Tella)

Kenneth Roberts, Professor at Cornell University, teaches comparative and Latin American politics, with an emphasis on the political economy of development and the politics of inequality. His research is devoted to the study of political parties, populism, and labor and social movements.

Germán Lodola, (PhD, University of Pittsburgh) is Associate Professor at the Universidad Torcuato Di Tella and Researcher at Argentina´s National Science and Technology Research Council. He has published numerous articles on subnational and gubernatorial politics, political careers and voting behavior in Latin America.

Register here

August 11, 2020: Germany (Marcel Lewandowsky, University of Florida) & The Netherlands (Sarah de Lange, Universiteit van Amsterdam)

Registration not yet available.

September 8, 2020: Venezuela (Caitlin Andrews-Lee, Tulane University) & Nicaragua* (Rachel Schwartz, Tulane University & Kai Thaler, UC-Santa Barbara)

Registration not yet available


September 29, 2020: Tanzania (Daniel Paget, University of Aberdeen) & Burundi* (Stephanie Schwartz, University of Southern California)

Registration not yet available

October 13, 2020: Hungary (Agnes Batory, Central European University) & Poland (Ben Stanley, SWPS University)

Registration not yet available

November 10, 2020: Italy (Lisa Zanotti, Griffith University) & Spain (Carolina Plaza Colodro, Universidade Nova da Lisboa)

December 8, 2020: Mexico (Cecilia Martinez Gallardo, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill) & Brazil (Frederico Bertholini, Universidade de Brasília)

January 12, 2021: India (Pavithra Suryanarayan, Johns Hopkins University) & South Africa (Ryan Brunette, City University of New York & Benjamin Fogel, New York University)

February 9, 2021: UK (Tim Bale, Queen Mary University) & France (Steven Van Hauwaert, University of Surrey)

March 9, 2021: Russia (Yoshiko Herrera, University of Wisconsin-Madison) & Turkey (Evren Balta, Ozyegin University)

April 13, 2021: Philippines (Paul Kenny, Australian National University) & Indonesia (Eunsook Jung, University of Wisconsin-Madison)