Populism and the Pandemic: A Comparative Perspective

Sponsored by the Jean Monnet EU Center of Excellence for Comparative Populism at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the Political Science Institute at the University of Brasília.

This international virtual lecture series titled “Populism and the Pandemic- A Comparative Perspective” investigates the response of populists in different countries to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This international virtual lecture series titled “Populism and the Pandemic- A Comparative Perspective” investigates the response of populists in different countries to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Lectures held from November through February will occur every second Tuesday of the month at 11 am US Central Daylight Time (CDT)/14.00 Brasília, Brazil (GMT-3)/18.00 Brussels, Belgium (CET). Please note that the time in Brazil is different from previous lectures, as Europe and the USA have returned to standard time and Brazil does not observe daylight saving time.

Recordings of the lectures are available below.

*September 2020 hosted two talks, one on September 8th and the other on September 29th.

Registration is required for each lecture, and registration forms will become available on the event page for each event as the date of the event approaches. A maximum of 250 participants are allowed on the platform.

Lecture Schedule