“Populists and the Pandemic: How Populists Around the World Responded to Covid-19″with addresses by Jan-Werner Müller and Pippa Norris


Jan-Werner Müller, “Reflections on Populism and Crisis”

Jan-Werner Müller is Roger Williams Straus Professor of Social Sciences and Professor of Politics at Princeton University. He works mainly in democratic theory and the history of modern political thought; he also has research interests in the relationship between architecture and politics, as well as the normative implications of the current structural transformations of the public sphere. Publications include Constitutional Patriotism (2007), Contesting Democracy: Political Ideas in Twentieth-Century Europe (2011) and What is Populism? (2016), which has been translated into more than 20 languages. 2019 saw the publication of Furcht und Freiheit: Für einen anderen Liberalismus, which won the Bavarian Book Prize; in 2021, Democracy Rules appeared with FSG, Penguin, and Suhrkamp.


Pippa Norris, “In Praise of Skepticism: Trust, Gullibility and Skepticism”

Starts at 1:00:00 in the recording.

Pippa Norris is a comparative political scientist who has taught at Harvard for three decades. She is the Paul McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, an Affiliated Professor at Harvard’s Government Department, and founding Director of the Electoral Integrity Project. Her research compares public opinion and elections, democratic institutions and cultures, gender politics, and political communications in many countries worldwide. Recent research projects include TrustGov, the IPSA-ECPR World Survey of Political Science, the Global Party Survey, and the World Values Survey. Major honors include the 2022 Warren E. Miller Award by APSA, the 2022 Sakıp Sabancı International Research Award, the 2021 Murray Edelman Lifetime Distinguished Career Award by APSA, the 2020 Samuel Eldersveld award by APSA, the 2019 Charles Merriam award by APSA, 2018 fellowship of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the 2017 Isaiah Berlin Lifetime Achievement Award by the PSA, the 2017 International Institutional Engagement award, the 2016 Brown Medal for Democracy, the Australian PSA’s 2016 Academic Leadership in Political Science, IPSA’s 2014 Karl Deutsch award, the 2011 Johan Skytte prize in political science, and the ARC’s 2011 Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship.