Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Lecture: Populism and Democracy in the Times of the Pandemic

June 9 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

A video recording of this event is now available online. WATCH THIS LECTURE ONLINE HERE.

Sponsored by the Jean Monnet EU Center of Excellence for Comparative Populism at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the Political Science Institute at the University of Brasilia

This virtual lecture is the first in a series titled “Populism and the Pandemic- A Comparative Perspective'”, which investigates the response of populists in different countries to the COVID-19 pandemic. The lectures will be held every second Tuesday of the month at 11 am US Central Daylight Time (CDT)/13.00 Brasilia, Brazil (GMT-3)/18.00 Brussels, Belgium (CEST).

 

 

Cristóbal Rovira Kaltwasser is a full professor at the School of Political Science of the Diego Portales University (UDP) in Santiago de Chile and an associate researcher at the Centre for Social Conflict and Cohesion Studies (COES). He received his PhD in political science from the Humboldt-University of Berlin, and his main area of research is comparative politics. He takes a special interest in the ambivalent relationship between populism and democracy. Formerly, he worked as a research fellow at the University of Sussex, the Social Science Research Center Berlin (WZB) and the Human Development group of the Chilean Bureau of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Together with Cas Mudde (Georgia University), he has written the book “Populism. A Very Short Introduction” (Oxford University Press, 2017), which so far has been translated into Catalan, Dutch, French, Greek, Japanese, Portuguese and Thai.

 A recording of this lecture is currently available.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Details

Date:
June 9
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm